Questionably Texan

Home » 100 mile ultra » RR100: Final Thoughts

RR100: Final Thoughts

I’m settled into my tent for the night, but I feel far from ready for the race tomorrow. I’ve had an emotionally draining 24 hours, and I’m just not sure I’ve got it in me to power through the mental aspect of the race tomorrow. The way I’m feeling, I put the odds of a dnf at 60%. I hate saying that, but that’s how I’m feeling. Adding to that, my crew/pacer (2 friends) weren’t able to make it due to a family emergency. So I’m completely solo down here. Yes, I know that I have people supporting me from afar, but no one here to look me in the eye and tell me to suck it up and get moving.

Hopefully I wake up feeling better in the morning (although the odds of me feeling good at 4:30 any morning are slim!). The only hope I’m really feeling right now rests in the fact that I’ve covered this distance once before. My friend Bill made me a stone necklace thing when I finished my first 100. I’ll be wearing it tomorrow as a reminder of that successful race.

20140131-203328.jpg

5 Comments

  1. Melissa says:

    Good luck! I hope you wake up feeling strong.

  2. Jill says:

    Will be rooting for you every step of the way. Do what you can, and that’ll be good enough!!

  3. alycouch says:

    For what it’s worth, here’s to a mental boost! All the best.

  4. Joey says:

    C’mon man! Remember you signed up for it because you love running so much. You’ll be so fucking glad when you finish the race.

  5. erin says:

    You got this! Cheering for you!

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
