Questionably Texan

Home » 100 mile ultra » RR100 Training: Half-Marathonpalooza

RR100 Training: Half-Marathonpalooza

My quest to spend 12 weeks training for the Rocky Raccoon 100 mile ultramarathon continues.

I think it’s been about a month since I did a weekly training cap, which makes sense since it’s been a month since I did any sort of worthwhile training.  This week, I finally got my mileage up.  I didn’t do any ‘long’ runs, but I did do four half-marathon distance runs this weekend, the first three of which were all within 24 hours start to finish.

Since my mileage has been so low lately, I worried about getting in truly “long” runs this weekend without getting injured.  So, I opted for total quantity instead.  I originally planned on making each run 12 miles long, but 13.1 just sounded better.  I arbitrarily picked 2 hours as a goal time for each run, knowing that it would force me to slow down for the first few runs, and then push myself on the last few.  I did a decent amount of walking in the first two 13.1s, which turned into less walking as my running pace slowed for the third 13.1.  The last one, I ran about as fast as I could manage, and wound up a little under 1:49.  I was pleased, given how sore my legs were.

Screen shot 2014-01-12 at 9.07.41 PM

My weekly average mileage is finally starting to curve back upwards!

Monday:
Lunch run – 4.0 miles (7:50/mile)
Run with dog – 3.0 miles (8:20/mile) w/dog

Tuesday:
Lunch run – 4.0 miles (7:16/mile)

Wednesday:
Bike commute – 20 miles

Thursday:
Bike commute – 20 miles

Friday:
Run an errand (literally) – 1.15 miles (7:31/mile)
Run 13.1 miles (9:06/mile)

Saturday:
Run 13.1 miles (9:06/mile)
Run 13.1 miles (9:07/mile) – started 90 minutes after finishing the first 13.1 for the day

Sunday:
Run 13.1 miles (8:17/mile)
Run 2.0 miles (9:52/mile) w/dog

Totals:
Run: 66.55
Bike: 40 miles

Some random photos from this weekend’s runs:

The start of a shoe crisis - these were the shoes I was planning on running the 100-miler in, but they gave me blisters after two miles.  Not a good sign!

The start of a shoe crisis – these were the shoes I was planning on running the 100-miler in, but they gave me blisters after two miles. Not a good sign!

Post-sunset on the trail.  I always seem to enjoy running at night.  Until I fall.  Which I've done twice in the last week - in the exact same spot.

Post-sunset on the trail. I always seem to enjoy running at night. Until I fall. Which I’ve done twice in the last week – in the exact same spot.

Had some random bug fly into my ear, and it wouldn't leave.  I had to go in after it with the end of my sunglasses, the only thing that was available.

Had some random bug fly into my ear, and it wouldn’t leave. I had to go in after it with the end of my sunglasses, the only thing that was available.

Sure sucks to be running when it's 70F/18C out in the middle of January.

Sure sucks to be running when it’s 70F/18C out in the middle of January.

11 Comments

  1. Wow- way to run this weekend! Glad it went well, you paced well, and that you tested those shoes. The third half must have been hard just an hour and a half after finishing the second.
    And the 70 degree weather in January- not cool!

    • I’m a little confused about the shoes, since I wore them for my first 100 without any issues. That was two years ago, and I’ve hardly worn them since, but I still didn’t expect blisters two miles in.

      The third half was definitely the hardest. It was just enough time for my legs to stiffen up, but not nearly enough time for any recovery.

  2. Laura says:

    Looks like a good week of runs and rides – and I love the idea of doing separate runs in a 24-hour period. I might try one or two of those in my training too. I’m actually the most worried right now about starting a race at midnight – do you think I need to include any nighttime runs in my training?

    • You definitely need to do some night running. It does take some getting used to. Part of it is the timing , part of it is only being able to see what your headlamp is shining on.

      I’ve found multiple runs close together to be a great training tool. It helps mentally with knowing what it’s like to run on tired legs.

  3. Laura says:

    Oh, and running in shorts – jealous!

  4. Looking forward to following the rest of your journey to the RR100!

  5. Hi Jesse! Just found your blog today… Forgive me if you’ve answered this somewhere else, but do you have any set way of figuring your bicycle commuting into your training plan? I commute about 10 miles per day on the weekdays, and I’m training for a marathon right now. Seeing this post has got me wondering if I should/could scale back on the running mileage accordingly.

    • I haven’t followed through on a training plan for the last 3+ years. Most of my training, if you can call it that, is just a matter of fitting in what I can when I can. As for cutting back on the running, is this your first marathon? Do you have a time goal, or is your goal to finish? How much are you running right now per week? When you bike commute, are you riding at a relaxed pace, or are you getting your heart rate up and pushing yourself on most rides?

      • Gotcha. I wouldn’t say I follow too specific of a training plan either, though I do track weekly mileage and calculate my splits for long runs.

        It’s not my first marathon, but it is my first since becoming a vegan. I recovered from ITBS about two months ago and I’m shooting for a 4:00 on this one. As for the commute… it is very urban, very hilly, lots of starting and stopping because of traffic. I generally push myself and get my heart rate up, but wouldn’t call it an intense workout.

        • If it was me, and I was recovering from itb, I would probably only run three or four times a week, and push the bike a little bit harder than normal. Cycling can irritate itb too, but running is a bigger culprit. Obviously cycling isn’t equal to running, but I think that I’ve gained a huge amount by tiring my legs out cycling, and then running on tired legs. It won’t do much for 5k speed, but it seems to help a lot with endurance. Hope that helps some!

          • I haven’t really tried running after my cycling for the day – usually the running comes first. I never thought of switching that around but it sounds like a good idea!

            Thanks so much for your response!

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
