Questionably Texan

Home » Rocky Raccoon » RR100 Training: The Past Four Weeks

RR100 Training: The Past Four Weeks

My quest to spend 12 weeks training for the Rocky Raccoon 100 mile ultramarathon continues.

Let’s just go ahead and say that the entire month of December was pretty much a waste when it came to training for this race.  I ran a total of 84 miles, and bike commuted a whopping 30 miles in the entire month.  I’ve got lots of excuses as to why I did so little, but none of that really matters anymore.  All that matters is that I was able to get some of my mileage back up this past week, and have successfully avoided injury.  10% rule?  Definitely don’t have time for that sh*t.

Screen shot 2014-01-06 at 5.16.11 AM

See those low dots there on weeks 8 & 7? Those represent the 4 miles that I ran each of those two weeks.

Despite my lack of quality training, I’m not doubting my ability to finish the race.  I finished the Lost Soul Ultra on less weekly mileage, and it is a FAR more difficult course.  Obviously each race presents its own challenges, and my body may not cooperate in the same way as it did the first time around, but I know that I’ve got the mental fortitude to grit it out for 33+ hours.  As an added bonus, Rocky Raccoon’s cutoff is 30 hours, so I know for certain that I won’t be out on the course for as long as I was at the Lost Soul!

3 Comments

  1. I know you can do it, too! I’m glad you’ve avoided injury; I hope you stay healthy!

  2. Running Girl says:

    Training is overrated anyways. Just drink a boatload of coffee and drop a scorpion down your shorts. You’ll run like the wind!

    And for what it’s worth, I’m with you. It is mostly mental. You CAN do this. I have faith in my Texas transplant friend!

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
