Questionably Texan

Home » Rocky Raccoon » No Obligatory End of the Year Post Here

No Obligatory End of the Year Post Here

My blog feed has been filled with everyone writing their 2013 recaps or 2014 goals/aspirations/resolutions/…   As for me, I’m not really feeling that contemplative at the moment.    Maybe in the next few days I’ll have some thoughts on what I want out of the New Year, but for now I’ve got a one-track mind focused on the Rocky Raccoon 100 in 31 days.

I did WAY too little running in December, and now I’m stuck trying to figure out how on earth I’m going to complete the RR100.  In most respects, I’m starting from scratch.  Seriously.   I ran 12 miles on Sunday, and my legs felt like I had raced a marathon.  I ran 13 miles yesterday, and my quads were not happy about it.  I shouldn’t be sore from those distances, but I am.  And since I’ve learned that there’s little use in regretting the past, all I can do is figure out what I can get done in the next four and a half weeks.   Assuming I can crank the mileage back up, I’ll need to taper at least a week before the race, effectively leaving me with about three weeks to train for this race.   We’ll see what happens!

In non-running news, my wife and I finally went and got iPhones.  So long android, hello Siri.  I took my inaugural selfie during my run yesterday – it’s a lot easier to do with a phone that has a forward facing camera!

20140101-195910.jpg

Have I ever mentioned that I like Texas?  Seriously.  December 31st and I was running outside in shorts and a short sleeved shirt, with the sun shining down on me.  (we’ll just ignore that the temperature is supposed to drop from the current 64f/18C down to 28f/-2C by 7am tomorrow morning)

15 Comments

  1. Ah- running in shorts sounds like a dream right now!
    I have faith you can do the race still. You’ve done that distance before, and I’m sure 90% of it is mental!

  2. Laura says:

    I’m more than a little jealous that get to run outdoors – especially as I get ready for another day on the treadmill! Congrats on the new iPhone – I am rather pathetically addicted to mine!

  3. piratebobcat says:

    It’s crazy, I was in shorts yesterday too, but right now it’s freezing!!!

  4. Caitlin says:

    1. I really need a phone with a forward facing camera. Selfies are impossible with my current phone. It’s bullshit.

    2. I had a similar thought re: Florida earlier this week. It’s pretty sweet to be able to run in shorts and a singlet in December.

    3. I think your attitude is the right one for moving forward on the 100-miler. You can’t do anything about the time you missed; you can only work with what you’ve got ahead. I’m sure you’ll be more ready than you know when it comes time to run that race.

  5. Jill says:

    Nice thing about Colorado is you can wear shorts in January also…on a Tuesday. Then Wednesday we’ll have snow and Thursday it’ll still be cold but by Friday it’s back to 60 degrees. Kinda bipolar weather patterns here, but I like the mountains so I think I’ll stay :).

    I have no doubt you’ll pull off the 100. Just take it super slow at the start and rest when you can!

    I love my iPhone…but I bet I don’t know how to do about 90% of the things I CAN do on it. 🙂

    • Yeah, I remember the bipolar weather when we lived on the front range. It was weird. And there wasn’t as much “winter” there as I expected for it being Colorado. Of course, I know it’s different in the mountains, but where we were, it wasn’t too bad at all!

  6. triplantpower says:

    I agree with the whole New Year’s thing. What makes today any more special than another day to chase/set goals? I’ve got confidence in your 100 miler coming up. One foot in front of the other!

  7. Wow, that race is coming up quick! Can’t wait to see how it goes! I cannot imagine running for that long.

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
