Questionably Texan

Home » food » BWI – My New Favourite Airport

BWI – My New Favourite Airport

I recently had BWI (Baltimore) added to the list of airports that I have some job responsibilities for.   As with all 30 of the other airports I cover, I quickly rank them based on how good the vegan food options are.  Sorry Jackson, Mississippi, but you’re at the bottom of my list (Corpus Christi, TX is a close second-to-last).

I thought I had died and gone to vegan heaven when I walked off the plane in BWI and immediately saw a Chipotle and a Jamba Juice.   Even just one of those two catapults an airport to near the top of my favorite list, but both?  Unbelievable!  But wait.  It gets better.  This Chipotle is in one of the select parts of the country that is starting to offer “Sofritas,” a seasoned tofu blend.

I’m not sure if I could call it the best burrito I’ve ever had, but it was definitely the best airport burrito I’ve eaten.  And I’ve had a lot of airport burritos in my day.   And the Jamba Juice smoothie washed it down real nice! (obviously not a low-calorie combo).

I think I may need to be making more frequent day trips to BWI.  For work, of course.

Chipotle2

chipotle

17 Comments

  1. piratebobcat says:

    I sometimes fly to BWI when visiting DC and take the train there – sometimes cheaper than the DC airports.

  2. Rookienotes says:

    I love it!

  3. Holy cow!! I can’t believe Chipotle is offering tofu now!! That is so exciting!! I bet they have it here! I will have to go check it out!

  4. SoWhatIRun says:

    Ah! You were in my neck of the woods!

  5. Ha- I like the way you choose best airports!

    • At most airports, I can use my airline employee badge to go through a different security screening line. So I can’t really judge them based on the waiting times for security. Which pretty much just leaves food as the only deciding factor!

  6. My husband travels a ton, and he has said on numerous occasions that he thinks BWI (surprisingly) is a GREAT airport. I had a layover there in the spring, and I definitely agree. Clean, and tons of food choices!

  7. tlsylvan says:

    I haven’t tried their tofu yet – I need to go!

  8. jimmyjtaylor says:

    They have the sofritas in Colorado. I was super excited about it when I saw it, but after giving it a try I decided I like the plan veggie burrito better.

    • I’m not sure I’d get the sofritas every single time, but it was a nice change from the normal veggie burrito that I normally get. In the grand scheme of things, I was probably more excited when they added brown rice to their line up than the sofritas.

  9. runsaltrun says:

    THERE’S A JAMBA JUICE IN BWI!? Why did I not know this!? I live here!
    I lived in California for awhile and became obsessed with Jamba Juice and it is one of the things I miss the most about living out there. I feel like my world just got turned upside down. Obviously I haven’t been to our airport in awhile. I need a vacation. And I’m glad you like BWI. 🙂

    • The Jamba Juice might be new, I’m not sure. It’s in the main food area, at one end.
      I do love Jamba Juice, but they used to have these bowls that I haven’t seen for a few years now. It was basically just a thick smoothie in a bowl with granola on top. Oh well, now i just go with smoothies. I wouldn’t necessarily say that they are the best smoothies in the world, but it seems so hard to find a drink that isn’t loaded with sugar (beyond naturally occurring fruit sugars), and I love that they have options that don’t include yogurt.

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
