Questionably Texan

Home » family » Getting Better With Age

Getting Better With Age

No, I’m not talking about me (although I am noticeably healthier than I was when I was 20).  My wife of 11+ years had a birthday last weekend, and she definitely keeps getting better as time goes on (as if that’s even possible, when someone starts out so amazing to begin with).

Last weekend also happened to be the weekend that the city shut down because of ice.  A birthday stuck inside isn’t much fun, so we still ventured out.  That is, of course, after having a pretty lazy morning around the house.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We don’t let our dogs get on the furniture, but we do let them get partway on us if we’re on the couch The rule is that two paws need to stay on the ground. Green Bean has been pushing that limit lately though!

We had lunch at a nearby Mexican restaurant that has a small vegan selection (it’s nice to be able to go anywhere that even knows what vegan is).

Good fajitas.  Excellent lunch date.

Good fajitas. Excellent lunch date.

After spending the afternoon birthday shopping, we came home for a quiet evening in.  We ended up watching “Christmas Vacation.”  Apparently it’s weird that I had never watched it before.  I’ll pull out my immigrant card on that one.

Our old house was tiny, so we had no room for a full-size Christmas tree.  This house is significantly larger, so our little tree looks somewhat out of place.

Our old house was tiny, so we had no room for a full-size Christmas tree.  This house is significantly larger, so our little tree looks somewhat out of place.

I have no idea how I ever convinced Natasha to marry me, but I’m glad that she agreed to let this Canuck into her life and get me a green card so that I could stay.   I can honestly say that after all these years together, I’m more in love with her now than the day we married.  I’m a much better person because of her, and I’m grateful for every birthday that I get to celebrate with her.

7 Comments

  1. runsaltrun says:

    That is so sweet! 🙂 Happy belated birthday to you! It sounds like you had a wonderful one despite the ice.

  2. Running Girl says:

    MiCocina by chance? Happy belated birthday to your wife! And I cannot BELIEVE you were a Christmas Vacation virgin! Clark, is your house on fire?????

    • Yup, Mi Cocina. It was the first time we had been there. We haven’t had that great of luck with Mexican restaurants in the area, so we had stopped trying. I wouldn’t say the food was amazing, but it was definitely better than a lot of the others we tried.

  3. piratebobcat says:

    Congrats! Now I want MICO’s too!

  4. Happy belated birthday to Natasha! This is such a sweet post!
    I can’t believe you hadn’t seen Christmas Vacation; it’s one of my all-time favourites!

  5. jnkmiles.org says:

    OMG….My husband can recite the entire movie! It is the only reason he agrees to help pull out the Christmas decorations….so he can download and act out each part! Y’all be safe in that wacky weather!

  6. Jill says:

    Ahhhh, I love how much you love her. I’m glad you had a wonderful day together to celebrate her birthday.

    I’ve never watched Christmas Vacation either (bits and pieces of it); it’s rare I can sit through a whole movie without falling asleep. Ha.

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
