Questionably Texan

Home » House Projects » RR100 Training: Week 4 of 12

RR100 Training: Week 4 of 12

My quest to spend 12 weeks training for the Rocky Raccoon 100 mile ultramarathon continues.

Monday:
Nothing!

Tuesday:
Lunch run – 4.0 miles (6:57/mile)

Wednesday:
Runmute to work – 9.6 miles (8:01/mile)
Runmute home – 9.5 miles (8:13/mile)

Thursday:
Nothing!

Friday:
Nothing!

Saturday:
Nothing!

Sunday:
Run – 20.5 miles (7:50/mile)

Totals:
Run: 43.6 miles
Bike: zero miles

Not my finest week of training, but at least I got in my longest run since my hypothermia episode back in January.  It’s a little scary for me to think that I’m just eight weeks out from the 100 miler, and I’m only now up to 20 miles.  I’ve got a lot of work to do in the next six weeks, because let’s be honest, the last two weeks before the race isn’t exactly the time for me to be pushing the distance envelope.
I want to know who thought it was a good idea to hang the doors this way.

I want to know who thought it was a good idea to hang the doors this way.

I had planned on getting in back-to-back long runs this weekend.  However, I ended up spending all day Saturday working on our back doors.  Ever since we bought this house last February, the doors to the back yard have bothered us.   They are supposed to be French doors, but whoever put them in decided that it was best to have the hinges in the middle instead of the outside.  Beyond aesthetics, we also had an issue with the threshold from the bamboo floors to the door – being that there wasn’t one.  Natasha and I ripped out the carpet almost immediately after we bought the house, and installed hand-scraped bamboo flooring.  Between the new plywood subfloor that we had to lay (almost all of the houses in this area are built on concrete slabs), and then the bamboo, the finished floor ended up being about 3/4″ taller than the old carpet.  So, the bamboo sat flush with the bottom of door. After much procrastination, we finally decided that Thanksgiving break was going to be the time that we finally get this project done.

While I was working on removing the doors and enlarging the opening to be able to move them up an inch, Natasha was working on refinishing the doors.  On top of a fresh coat of paint, we also removed the glass panes and re-glazed them. We got the doors reinstalled by the end of the day Saturday, but I still need to put up new trim, inside and out. Although even without the trim, they already look much better.

Hopefully you spent your Thanksgiving (or regular weekend if you’re outside the US) doing something more fun than hanging doors!

Probably not the easiest way to carry the door, but it worked!

Probably not the easiest way to carry the door, but it worked!

10 Comments

  1. Brittany says:

    Wow, that’s a long run-commute! Impressive.

  2. Running Girl says:

    I want to know how you are feeling today after that long run yesterday. After basically taking off all of last week, I was sore this morning from running back to back days. Pathetic.

    • I’m a little sore today, but not terrible. It was a little painful (in my quads) on the short downhill section of my lunch run today. I think by the time I wake up tomorrow I’ll be back to normal, whatever that is.

      I’m sure you won’t be sore for long – your body wouldn’t have forgotten that quickly how to run day after day at ungodly hours of the morning.

  3. runsaltrun says:

    What the WHAT?? Who hangs doors like that?? That’s so weird! I’m sure they look much better now. 🙂
    That is a darn great pace for your 20 mile run!

    • Yeah, we’ve tried and tried to find some sort of logic to hanging the doors like that, but we keep coming up empty.
      I don’t think I’ve run very many 20 milers at that pace. I’m sure it helped that I hadn’t laced up my running shoes the three days before.

  4. I have about the same run/bike commute to work also! One day I will be as speedy as you! One day…

  5. I think your two longer days were probably better than five or six shorter ones! That is quite a long runmute!
    Your bamboo floor sounds really nice!

    • I’m sure that the two longer days were better, given the race I’m training for. I would have liked to have had higher weekly mileage though. C’est la vie.

      I love our bamboo floors – they’re tongue & groove planks like traditional hardwood floors (not laminate/pergo). The only downside is our choice of colour. It’s almost impossible to keep the darker floors looking clean with three large dogs in the house. They look awesome when they are clean, but it only seems to take our dogs an hour to mess them up again, between paw prints and shedding. I’d put bamboo in again, just in a lighter shade.

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
