Questionably Texan

Home » One Thing Wednesday » One Thing Wednesday: Men in Tights

One Thing Wednesday: Men in Tights

Now that winter has reached its full fury here in Texas (translation: the temperature dropped below freezing. Twice!), I’ve been forced to bust out my running tights.  When I first got tights a few years ago, I felt very self-conscious wearing them.  Now, not so much.  Sure, I got a few stares as I strolled onto the train wearing my tights this morning, having just run 9+ miles to get there.  But I don’t let it bother me as much as I used to.

Robin Hood

However, it seems that I may be in the minority of males who don’t cover up their running tights with a pair of running shorts.  I’ve never done that before, but am I supposed to?  I always figured that as long as I’m not showing copious amounts of moose knuckle, I’m ok (don’t worry, I linked to the urban dictionary definition and not to photos – I don’t want to see photos of moose knuckle either).  Am I wrong though?  Should males be covering up their running tights with shorts?

21 Comments

  1. Melissa says:

    I don’t really see men wearing shorts over their tights here. Most guys wear longer shirts, but not shorts. But Austin is not like the rest of Texas, so take that with a grain of salt!

  2. I’ve never worn shorts over tights, not in here not back home (NYC). Shorts over tights has never made sense to me, and let’s be honest, with temperatures as low as they are now, all shrinks, so no need to worry about moose knuckle lol.

  3. Running Girl says:

    Real men wear tights….and no shorts. Unless you are revealing too much. The guys I run with are tights only.

  4. Laura says:

    Yep, I agree with a bulk of the comments here. Tights sans shorts. Who needs the extra bulk?

  5. SoWhatIRun says:

    lol! I’ll have to tell you, I’ve seen some guys in tights around here and they might has well have been naked. In my mind, I screamed, “My eyes! My eyes!” I’m guessing if you purchase tights that fit correctly, you don’t need to cover up. I see the same thing happen with women and camel toe…size up ladies! Just curious…why not a jock strap? Do men do that when running??

    • I don’t know about jock straps (for some reason I’ve never asked a fellow male runner, “what do you have on under those tights?”). I’ve always worn a pair of compression-style shorts under my tights, which I’m sure helps keep things modest. These shorts have a patch of nylon in the front to act as a windblock. If it’s cold enough for me to be wearing tights, I don’t want a cold wind blowing right through my tights in some places!

  6. Eileen says:

    When I first started running in tights, I also wore shorts over them to conceal the camel toe. Once I started running with a group, I realized how silly it looked and ditched the shorts.

  7. Joey says:

    The guys that wear shorts over the tights are newbs

  8. I think it looks silly when men wear shorts over tights. It can’t be comfortable!

  9. sushismith says:

    Agree with the comments here as well, runner’s are different breed and we have our own creed! Go with what makes you the most comfortable, because then you’ll run your best regardless!

  10. Ian says:

    Rock your tights without shorts. Be bold and confident. Guys look great in tights.

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
