Questionably Texan

Home » 100 mile ultra » RR100 Training: Week 2 of 12

RR100 Training: Week 2 of 12

Had a disappointing training week.  Life/work got in the way, and I just wasn’t able to get the miles in that I had hoped for. C’est la vie. Hopefully this next week will be a better training week.

Monday:
Morning run – 4.25 miles (7:49/mile)
Lunch run – 5.75 miles (7:56/mile)
Bike commute – 20 miles

Tuesday:
Lunch run – 5.0 miles (7:41/mile)
Bike commute 10 miles

Wednesday:
Morning run – 3.15 miles (8:28/mile – thought I was going to freeze to death!)

Thursday:
Runmute to work – 9.5 miles (8:06/mile)
Bike commute – 10 miles

Friday:
Bike commute – 10 miles

Saturday:
Off

Sunday:
Run – 15.5 miles (7:56/mile)

Totals:
Run: 43.15 miles
Bike: 50miles

It’s somewhat scary how sore my quads are this morning. I’m hoping that the soreness is from squatting in the shower trying to bathe two of our (80lb) dogs, and not from the 15 miles I ran yesterday. If it’s from the running, this race is not going to be pretty.

10 Comments

  1. SoWhatIRun says:

    Although it’s not what you wanted, I think you did great this week! Try soaking in an Epsom salt bath. It always helps me with DOMS.

  2. Looks like a good start! And every single commuting mile helps, so at least that is super consistent!

  3. Great start to the training! I’m sure next week will be better. 🙂 The commuting miles sure add up, don’t they?

    • The commuting miles definitely add up. It’s been a while since I’ve been able to commute round-trip every day in a week, but when I do, it adds up to 100 miles a week. It’s an easy way to get in a couple hundred miles a month without thinking about it much.

      • Wow! 100 extra miles a week is crazy. I can’t imagine. I’m only about 2.5 miles from my office, so the runmute is quick! Sometimes I wish I had to run further. Another reason that runners are a little nuts. 🙂

        • Well, you could always go a round-about way to get to the office to add some distance. It’s much easier to make the trip longer than it is to make it shorter!

          Just to make sure that it doesn’t sound like I’m trying to puff myself up, that 100 miles a week extra is biking miles not running miles. I’ve never come close to running 100 miles in a week! (except when I ran a 100-mile race).

  4. Jill says:

    Is there a 100 that is pretty? 🙂

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
