Questionably Texan

Home » Rocky Raccoon » RR100 Training: Week 1 of 12

RR100 Training: Week 1 of 12

In case it’s not evident by the title of this post, I’ve decided to run the Rocky Raccoon 100 mile ultramarathon in February.  The more I thought about it, the fewer excuses I had to not run it.  Plus, it’ll be nice to feel like a badass at least one more time before the kids arrive.  The race is less than 11 weeks away, which is not nearly enough time to adequately train, but we’ll see what happens!  If I was smarter, I would have made a decision about the race a few weeks ago instead of waiting until now to finally commit.  C’est la vie.

In a future post, I’ll  lay out how I plan to train to run a 100-mile race in only 12 weeks.  For now, here’s what I did this past week:

Monday:
Runmute to work – 9.61 miles (7:48/mile)
Lunch run – 4.0 miles (7:06/mile)
Bike commute – 10 miles

Tuesday:
Morning run – 4.0 miles (7:57/mile)
Lunch run – 4.0 miles (7:43/mile)

Wednesday:
Bike commute – 10 miles
Morning run – 4.0 miles (7:15/mile)
Bike commute – 10 miles

Thursday:
Lunch run – 5.0 miles (7:15/mile)

Friday:
Morning run – 4.5 miles (7:34/mile)
Lunch run – 4.6 miles (7:37/mile)
Bike commute – 10 miles

Saturday:
Off

Sunday:
Run – 12.0 miles (7:27/mile)

Totals:
Run: 51.1 miles
Bike: 40miles

The goal this week was to get my mileage up, without injuring myself.  With that in mind, most of my runs were short (4 to 5 miles), but I ran doubles on three days to help increase my overall weekly mileage.  My legs felt fatigued at times, but it wasn’t nearly as bad as I was expecting, especially considering I haven’t had a 50+ mile week in two and a half years.  Ok, let’s be honest, I can probably count the number of weeks on one hand that I’ve ever run more than 50 miles (including marathon and ultramarathon race weeks).

10 Comments

  1. Laura says:

    Looks great – and great for you! I decided my first 50-miler would be in February!

  2. Awesome! I’m so excited that you’re doing this!

    • Thanks! I’m looking forward to it (as I sit here with an ice pack on one of my knees, knowing that it’s probably going to be a routine occurrence for the next 11 weeks, as I stupidly try to cram in 6 months worth of training).

  3. triplantpower says:

    Looks like a good first week back! I’ve got my final race this year on Saturday-the Richmond Marathon and believe me, that was a last minute call. There’s not other way to be a distance runner in my opinion! Good luck and I’ll be following along.

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
