Questionably Texan

Home » adoption » USAT Olympic Nationals

USAT Olympic Nationals

I’ve only done one triathlon so far, a sprint-distance tri back in August (see here).  Despite my lack of tri experience, this morning I received the following email:
Nationals

I’ll be honest, I don’t really know much about this event.  Even though you need to qualify for the USA Triathlon Olympic Distance Championships, I assume that it’s not the Boston marathon of running.  Seems like the only qualifying event in the tri world that I routinely hear about is Kona (which, in case you live under a tri rock, is this weekend).

I’m flattered by the invite from USAT for me to hand them $160 (plus travel expenses), but I won’t be signing up for the event, and it’s not just because the thought of a 1500m open-water swim nearly sends me into a panic attack.   There are just too many uncertainties in my life right now for me to commit to an event that is 10 months away.  I’ll likely be a dad by then (sh*t, I think the thought of that is more panic inducing that the thought of a 1500m OWS), and I just don’t know what life will be like with a couple of (possibly) teenagers running around the house.

Maybe one of our future kids wants to be a successful triathlete, and then we could do the event together sometime down the road.  A parent can dream, right?

4 Comments

  1. Congrats on being invited! That in itself seems pretty cool! Now may not be the right time, but who knows what the future will bring?

  2. milesovell says:

    Reblogged this on milessovell and commented:
    Get in gear

  3. That’s awesome you were extended the invitation! I love that you aren’t sure what makes you more nervous 🙂
    I see more tris in your future, so I’m sure you’ll make it again!

  4. Brittany says:

    Congrats! I got in for 2014 too, but I’m the same and feel it is too far out and too expensive (it’s a pretty high entry fee, right?!). Plus I think tri’s are more fun to do when you have friends/family around or participating. Anyway, that is pretty awesome you got in on your first tri!!

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
