Questionably Texan

Home » bike commuting » First Century Ride

First Century Ride

Despite my better judgement, I ended up riding my bike to the start of the rally yesterday (~24 miles away), and then home again afterwards.   They guys I was riding with ended up opting for the 42 miles version of the rally, instead of the 62 mile (100k) ride since the weather was pretty lousy.  Somehow though, the 42 mile version ended up being 52 miles, but that’s a story for another day.  At least it made for a nice round 100 mile day with the commute!

I have no shame in admitting that I spent most of the 52 mile ride drafting right behind one of the guys wheels.  There were five of us that formed a paceline, and I ended up only making a couple of pulls.  Between the wind and the hills, I definitely needed the draft!

Based on how I felt during and after the ride, I’d rank riding 100 miles somewhere around the same difficulty for me as running 18 miles.  Had I pushed the 100 miles harder, or not been in a paceline for half of it, I’m sure that my opinion would change.  But I’m enjoying the fact that I could still walk up and down steps without pain afterwards!

3 Comments

  1. Natasha says:

    Badass. And handsome to boot!

  2. Running Girl says:

    What? No limping?? I’m walking like a granny! Congrats on the ride in less-than-perfect-what-the-hell-was-I-thinking-conditions!

  3. Jill says:

    I did a century once. Once was enough.

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
