Questionably Texan

Home » cycling » Upcoming Metric Century Ride

Upcoming Metric Century Ride

Yesterday I signed up for a metric century bike rally for this Saturday (100km/~62 miles).  A co-worker asked if I wanted to ride with him and a couple of his friend, and since I’m clearly well trained for the event (cough, cough, yeah right) I figured what the hell, why not?

Sure, I’ve ridden well over 2,000 miles so far this year, but it’s all been short rides.  I mean, the farthest I’ve ever ridden a bike at once has been about 18 miles, so isn’t 62 miles the next logical progression?  I’ve even had the thought that I might ride my bike to/from the event, which would put me at over 100 miles total.   Because clearly that would be a smart decision.  I have no idea what it’s like to ride for more than an hour, but I do know what it’s like to run for hours on end, and I’m making the (hopeful) assumption that hour-for-hour, a brisk run is more painful/difficult than a leisure-paced bike ride.

I don’t mean for this to sound arrogant (although I’m sure it will come across that way to people who have actual experience riding centuries and metric centuries) but I’m not worried about not being able to finish the ride despite my lack of physical preparedness.  In my mind if I can mentally power through the physical pain of running a hundred miler, I can mentally power through just about anything.

I am, however,  more than a little worried about how much it’s going to hurt to sit down all of next week.

10 Comments

  1. Jean says:

    Well normally, it would be helpful to do some longer rides about 2-3 weeks before this ride.

    I’m sure you’ll enjoy it. Hope it’s not too hot then.

    • I’m sure it would be immensely helpful to have gotten in a couple of rides of even 30 miles. Ooops! We’re getting a “cold front” this weekend, and the high maxes out at 70F/21C on Saturday. 40% chance of rain though!

  2. After this ride, you will be ready for a half ironman! 🙂

  3. Running Girl says:

    If we weren’t getting a “cold front,” I’d say you’re nuts. But the change in temp alone should put a little zip in ya. I’m betting the ride will be great-the days following…maybe not so much. You and I can both limp thru next week. Good luck!!

  4. Brittany says:

    Should be fun! I find the main difference in biking for hours & running for long periods is the leg muscle not the cardio. Just spin lots and take breaks as you need!

    • I didn’t end up spinning as much as I would have liked, largely due to the fact that I still haven’t fixed my front derailleur since my little crash a few weeks ago (snapped the cable guide off the frame). I tried to epoxy it back on before the rally, but it didn’t stick well enough for me to trust it. So, I was riding my big chainring the entire time. Wasn’t too big of a deal, except for the hills. I definitely wanted to be spinning more and hammering less up the hills!

      The guys I was with took a couple of breaks during the ride, and I have no shame in admitting that I rode 8″ behind one of their wheels for the last 15 miles (the wind picked up, and I was struggling to keep up with them).

  5. You’ll definitely be able to power through! That’s awesome you signed up!
    I agree- you can sign up for a half IM after you conquer this!
    My only suggestion would be to wear padded shorts for sure!

    • Umm, yeah, about the padded shorts. I conveniently purchased my first pair of those 5 hours AFTER the ride. No correlation between the two events (I wasn’t nearly as sore as I thought I’d be), I just happened to see a great deal on a pair while out later in the afternoon.

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
