Questionably Texan

Home » adoption » Catching Up

Catching Up

Thank you for all the comments (and a couple of emails) on my last post.  I haven’t been running tons since then (life has been busy), but I have been squeezing in a few runs and my overall mood has improved.

Speaking of running, this past Sunday I ran a 5k.  It seems a little odd to say it, but that was only the third time I’ve run a stand-alone 5k (not part of a aquathlon/triathlon, etc.)  It was part of the local ‘Corporate Challenge’, an olympic-style series of events pitting companies against each other, with the benefits going to the Special Olympics.  The 5k is scored as a team event, with the times of the top three men and top three women from each company being added together.  I was a little disappointed to see that our top three guys (combined) were more than two minutes faster than the winning team’s guys, but with our total team time we ended up 15 minutes behind for sixth place.  C’est la vie.  Even though it was technically a team event, I was pleased with my personal time, and I shaved about 15 seconds off of last years Corporate Challenge race (I finished in 18:31, first for my company and sixth overall).  If I was smart (or if I had known better from running more 5k’s), I would have tacked on a couple of recovery miles after the race to flush out my legs.  But I didn’t.  And the next day I woke up with my legs feeling like I had just run a marathon.  I’m of the belief that anyone who says that racing a 5k is easy because it’s a short distance is someone who isn’t pushing themselves nearly hard enough during the race.  5k’s hurt.

In unrelated news, we have our adoption home study at the end of this week.   (in case you didn’t know, my wife and I are planning to adopt some older kids – possibly teenagers – from the foster care system).   Have no idea how long it will take us to get matched with kids, but in about four weeks we will be in the system and eligible to be matched at any time.

I’m pretty sure I’ll shit myself when that actually happens.

3 Comments

  1. Running Girl says:

    Best of luck with your home study. I feared it – turned into a completely pleasant experience. Perhaps you should invest in some adult diapers?

  2. tlsylvan says:

    Nice job on the 5K! And good luck with your home study – it makes me happy that there are people like you and your wife who want to adopt teens 🙂

  3. Nice time on the 5K! Most people, especially non-runners, don’t understand how difficult and taxing a 5K can be when you are pushing yourself to the limit. It is easy to understand number of miles, but hard to understand the pain of running on threshold for 15-25 minutes.

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
