Questionably Texan

Home » running » My Five Year Runniversary

My Five Year Runniversary

While July 28th, 2008 wasn’t the first day I laced up running shoes and hit the pavement (I’m not exactly sure what day that was), it was the first day that I ran one mile without walking.  So, it is the day that I marked as the start of my journey towards becoming a runner.

Nike+ data from that first mile.

Nike+ data from that first mile.  I obviously started out too fast, and faded quick!

Five years ago, I never would have thought that I would be training for an attempt at a sub-3hr marathon.  I never would have thought that I’d have completed a 100-mile ultramarathon.  I never would have thought that I’d be a runner.

I looked back through my old (now private) blog, which I started in 2009.  It serves as a reminder of the different milestones that I’ve had along the way,  how my body has changed over time (for the better – I was definitely overweight), and how running has infiltrated my life over the past five years.

I could sit here and philosophize about running as I reflect on the journey, but if you’re a runner (and I assume nearly all of my readers are), then you already get it.  You know how running changes a person.

Shockingly, I plan on celebrating my runniversary by going for a run.

2 Comments

  1. Jill says:

    Ah…makes the heart warm. Happy Runaversary – I hope it was a fantastic run!

  2. Fitting way to celebrate~

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
