Questionably Texan

Home » adoption » Assume The Position

Assume The Position

image

Don’t worry – those are compression shorts, not my underwear.

As part of our decision to adopt through the foster system, I bit the bullet and had my nuts cut off yesterday (ok, so it was a “no-needle, no scalpel” vasectomy, but I reserve every right to be overly dramatic about a doctor taking doing anything to that part of my body).  So, for the rest of the weekend, I’ll be laying on the couch with an ever-constant rotation of ice packs on.

No exercise for the next week.  No running, no cycling, no swimming.  I’ll (hopefully) be using some of this downtime to write out a plan for the rest of the year. I’m registered for  a sprint tri in August (my first triathlon), and I’d like to sign up for an inaugural half-marathon in our little suburb in October, along with a full marathon in November.

I’ll do my best to have no time goals for the sprint tri, since I have no idea how I’ll fare.  I’d still like to get down to under 1:20 for the half (a lofty goal), and I’d like to go sub-3hrs for the marathon (another lofty goal, if you look at my current PR).  I’ll need some sort of structure to my training in order to reach those goals, hence why I’d like to get a written plan in place.

It kind of sucks to be laying on the couch dreaming about training and racing, icing my nuts instead of icing a sore leg muscle.  But it allows me time to think, to rest, and to mentally prepare for what’s to come, both in my running life and my personal life.  God knows I’ll be craving quiet times like this once there are teenagers in the house!

4 Comments

  1. Natasha says:

    Did you really just blog a photo of your nuts!? Ha….. and that’s why I love you. =)

  2. Hope the recovery goes well!
    Before the procedure, did you test out your swimming and wet suit again?

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
