Questionably Texan

Home » cross-training » First “Swim” of the Season

First “Swim” of the Season

wetsuitI jumped in our pool yesterday after work, for my first attempt at swimming this year. The water is still cold, so I put on my wetsuit (really, I was just looking for an excuse to try it out).

Our pool is shallow (a little over 5′ at its deepest) and is relatively small. It’s designed for leisure, not for training. Not to be discouraged by its size, last year I rigged up this really redneck device that allows me to swim in one place, kind of like an endless pool (translation: I tied a rope to the fence and tie the other end around my waist).

The setup actually works quite well. Unfortunately, I didn’t fare so well. According to my stopwatch, I lasted 48 seconds before needing a break. I wasn’t really tired, I just struggle a lot with breathing. My second attempt yielded slightly better, although still shameful results (a little less than 2 minutes).  Let’s just say that I didn’t do enough for me to write it down as any sort of workout.

Needless to say, I’ve got a lot of work to do this year!

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
