Questionably Texan

Home » triathlon » Running Out Of Excuses

Running Out Of Excuses

One more excuse to avoid signing up for my first attempt at a triathlon went away yesterday, when this showed up on my doorstep:

wetsuitI’m perhaps a couple (~5) pounds over the weight range for this wetsuit, but I’m a sucker for a good deal and I was able to get it on eBay for less than a third of the new price (even though it still had the tags on).  It was a struggle to get it on, but I’m assuming all wetsuits are for newbies (this was the second or third time in my life that I’ve put on a wetsuit).  Once it was on though, it was relatively comfortable.  I even hopped into our swimming pool for a few minutes (although I was too lazy to actually take the pool cover off, so I just peeled back a corner and slid in).  I couldn’t believe how much it helped me float!  Beyond the warmth, it’s no wonder triathletes wear these things!

I know I don’t technically “need” a wetsuit to do a triathlon, especially in Texas where the water will be warm by the end of summer, but I used my lack of one as an excuse to avoid the sport.  So, I’m now down to only one excuse for not signing up to attempt a triathlon:

I’m afraid of water

I’m fine in swimming pools, but I’m not fine in water where I can’t see – which, in this part of the world, is essentially everywhere except swimming pools.  I freak out.  And it’s bad.

We live less than a half mile from a huge lake.  Less than 3 miles from our house is a park with a “beach” and a boat-free cove where a decent number of local triathletes practice their open water swims.  A local triathlon club even does open water swims there every single week this time of year.  So, I have plenty of opportunities to work on overcoming this fear.

I just need to decide that I want to.

2 Comments

  1. Now that you have a wetsuit…you have no excuse not to swim! 🙂 Especially for being so close to a lake!!
    Tip: When you get in the water…open up the top of your wetsuit and let a bunch of water in and that will help the wetsuit fall into place and be more comfortable!

  2. meaganmck says:

    This is so great. I am afraid of the water, period! So that is what is keeping me from wanting to try a triathlon. Thanks for the inspiration though!! It’s a life goal to do a tri!

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
