Questionably Texan

Home » Dallas » Shortest Run in Years

Shortest Run in Years

image

Just a little bit wet after a whopping 1.67 mile run.

I probably should have paid more attention to the weather before heading out on my lunch break run. I knew it was raining (which is why I didn’t bike in to work today), and I knew it would be cold. I guess I just didn’t realize how hard it would be raining or how cold it would be.

I was a little more than 3/4 of a mile into my run when I decided to turn around. The lightning alert system on the aircraft maintenance hangar was going off (meaning lightning within 5 miles) and the rain was coming down at a 45 degree angle. Figured I should pretend to be smart and get my ass back inside.

1.67 miles after I started, I was back in the locker room. I’m pretty sure I spent more time warming up in the shower after than I did actually running. Can’t remember the last time I went out for such a short run.

10 Comments

  1. Jill says:

    Oh look, another locker room photo. Nice. 🙂

    Lightening and running outside are not exactly best friends. Maybe that sweet gym has a treadmill?

  2. Brrr… it got cold rapidly here too! Definitely skipping swim practice tonight!

  3. Sounds brutal- then again, I’d take a rain storm over snow any April day!
    Are there often thunderstorms during the day there?

    • Yeah, I know, I shouldn’t be complaining about the “cold” when fellow Canadians read this blog. But I’ve gotten really soft from living south of the border. In all fairness (to me), the “feels like” temperature was 31F/0C when I was out running. Considering it was 80F/27C yesterday, it was a big change!

      Thunderstorms are relatively common this time of year, and they are WAY more exciting/loud than any that I ever experienced in Alberta. I haven’t noticed a difference in whether they occur more frequently during the day or at night. They don’t seem to discriminate much!

  4. I didn’t realize it rained in Texas?! 🙂 What are you training for?

  5. happytrigirl says:

    good call on turning around! BRRR!!!

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
