Questionably Texan

Home » bike commuting » Weekly Half-Marathon Training Report

Weekly Half-Marathon Training Report

This week really seemed to kick my ass.  I’ve felt groggy and lethargic most of the week.  I blamed the Daylight Savings time change, but my lack of energy probably had more to do with the miles I put in this week (compared to the month previous).

Monday:
4.65 easy miles @ 7:30/mile
20 miles bike commuting

Tuesday:
9.67 miles @ 7:10/mile (run commute to work)
10 miles bike commuting

Wednesday:
5 miles @ 6:55/mile
20 miles bike commute

Thursday:
4 miles @ 7:15/mile (w/200m intervals)
20 miles bike commute

Friday:
4 easy miles @ 7:53/mile
20 miles bike commute

Saturday:
Nothing!

Sunday:
12 miles @ 6:54/mile

Totals: 39.3 miles running, 90 miles on the bike

Besides the first week in January where I did my hypothermia-inducing 39 mile run, I’ve only had one other week so far in 2013 where I’ve run over 20 miles.  Kind of embarassing when I think about how much I obsess over running.  So, going from 19 miles last week to 39 this week was an obvious change of pace.  What’s the rule for mileage?  10% increase each week?  Or is it 100% increase each week?  Just so we’re clear – this blog isn’t meant to be a tutorial for how to be an uninjured runner!

I felt like today’s 12 miler required a little more energy than I would have liked it to, but at the end of the 12 miles I felt like I could have comfortably completed another 1.1 miles at that pace (to make it a half-marathon).  In a few weeks, I’ll evaluate where I’m at, and pick a goal time for the half-marathon in May.  Having a goal time will help me focus my training paces, as right now I am simply running at whatever speed I feel like!

Thursday’s 200m intervals were more enjoyable than I expected.  To be clear though, they weren’t truly 200m intervals, they were Garmin 200m intervals (and so the distance is likely off by a little bit).  I have various workouts that I’ve programmed into my watch, one of them being 200m repeats.  I didn’t specify a specific recovery period when I programmed the repeats, so I can start them whenever I feel like.  I prefer it this way, since I’m running a looped path around the lake, and I’d prefer not to be the guy who starts sprinting when I’m coming up behind another runner.  I have never done any intervals shorter than 400m, and so I didn’t know what to expect for paces.  I ended up doing them in 34 to 36 seconds each, which works out to about 4:35 to 4:50/mile pace.  Of course, I can’t hold that pace for anywhere near a mile, but it was fun to see it on my watch!

I have no pictures related to running to post today, but my wife and I did pick out which photo to add to our anniversary album.  Ok, so she picked it out, but I took it!  Always a challenge to get the three dogs in the photo, and they’re never all looking a the camera.  But, at least we managed to get one where Green Bean wasn’t trying to play with Monkey!  Anyways, here it is, anniversary photo #11:

11th anniversary photo (L-R, Monkey, Natasha, Horton, Me, Green Bean)

11th anniversary photo – clearly we got married when we were twelve.
(L-R, Monkey, Natasha, Horton, Jesse (me), Green Bean)

4 Comments

  1. tlsylvan says:

    Nice job, and glad that you’re feeling better! I’ve had my Garmin for almost 3 years now, and I’m embarrassed to admit that I have never programmed an interval workout. I need to try that next week! How long are your recovery periods in between intervals typically?

    • My recovery periods are random – which probably isn’t that good. Honestly, I decide on my recovery period based on the people I’m approaching on the path. If I see a younger female running towards me, I don’t start an interval until I’m passed them, because I don’t want to be seen as “that douchebag” that’s out there trying to impress them by running real fast past them. I really shouldn’t care what other people think, but I do!

  2. Jill says:

    I’m laughing at the comment about the blog not being a tutorial for the uninjured. Most anal retentive experienced runner’s blogs aren’t. Great job on the week…stressing the body is teaching the body to adapt – as long as you stay uninjured! 🙂

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
