Questionably Texan

Home » bicycle commute » Weekly Half-Marathon Training Recap

Weekly Half-Marathon Training Recap

Not sure what week I’m actually in, but I’ve got 11 weeks till race day – more than enough time to make up for my slacking around lately.  It was a pretty poor week for bike commuting, with only two and a half days of commutes in this week.  My wife was out of town for a few days, and we had an evening meeting another night, so the logistics of riding every day lost out to the convenience (and slight time savings) of driving.

I was feeling really good about my running until I got sick towards the end of February, which knocked my training way down for the better part of two weeks.  This past week I started to get back to a somewhat normal running routine, but my running felt a lot more labored than it should have.  For the time being I’ve given up on a written training plan, but I’ll probably go back to one when I’m 8 weeks out from the half-marathon.

Monday:
-4 easy miles @ 7:28/mile

Tuesday:
-4 miles, with 4x400m intervals @ 1:24, 1:24, 1:16, 1:19

Wednesday:
-5 easy miles @ 7:37/mile
-10 miles bike commute

Thursday:
-20 miles bike commute
-no lunch run due to a lunch meeting

Friday:
-20 miles bike commute
-no lunch run due to a quick trip to Birmingham, AL

Saturday:
-6 miles with 4 @ 6:14/mile (tempo)

Sunday:
-Nothing!

It’s been a long time since I’ve done shorter intervals, like the 400’s that I did on Tuesday.  I didn’t have a set recovery period in between, just went with the flow.  I forgot how much intervals hurt though!  I need to incorporate more of these into my routine.  Saturday’s tempo run of 4 miles was a struggle to hit my goal pace (was hoping to be under 6:20/mile).  Even during the warm-up, my heart rate was fine but my breathing was harder than it should have been.  I was hoping to get in a long run today, since it’s been a few weeks, but my legs are incredibly stiff.  I think that the stiffness has more to do with the house projects that we did yesterday than it does my tempo run.  We had to replace some sections of our hardwood floor (destroyed during the foundation repair job that caused me to miss the Rocky Raccoon 100 miler), and so I did more than my fair share of squats.  I also did more than my fair share of swearing while I was working on the floors, but that’s a different subject all together!  (I measure the difficulty of house projects by the number of times I swear during them – plumbing usually unleashes the most profanity, but this floor repair job was definitely ‘colorful’).   But the floors are back in, the baseboards are nailed on/caulked/painted, and I changed all of the switches and outlets in that room.  Unfortunately, there’s still a ton more left on the to-do list!

Taken during my somewhat wet ride home on Friday.  It wasn't raining enough to soak me, but it was misting enough to make the roads a little slick.

Taken during my somewhat wet ride home on Friday.
It wasn’t raining enough to soak me, but it was misting enough to make the roads a little slick.

2 Comments

  1. Jill says:

    One thing comes to mind when I read this: you’re freaking FAST!

    Intervals are a humbling experience, but man are they good for speed.

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
