Questionably Texan

Home » cycling » I Just Keep Getting Older

I Just Keep Getting Older

My birthday was last week, and my wife got me a Garmin Forerunner 410.  I’ve been using a Forerunner 305 for a few years now, and it’s on its last leg – the buttons aren’t working so well anymore, the battery life is dwindling, and it seems to take longer and longer to find the satellites.  So, I’m excited about the new Garmin, although I fully realize that it won’t actually change how fast I can run.

My wife also gave me an introductory class at the local velodrome!  We are lucky enough to live super close to one of three (I think) Olympic velodromes in the US.  So, once they open up for the spring, I’ll be sprinting around the 44 degree embankments of the track trying not to shit myself.  Should be a good time!

Frisco Superdrome

Frisco Superdrome

2 Comments

  1. tlsylvan says:

    Happy belated birthday! I have the 410 and love it! I claim that it makes me faster, unless I have a bad run and then it’s all Garmin’s fault 🙂

    Velodromes look terrifying! How the hell do you even get on without tipping over? Please tell me you’ll post about it when you go.

    • I have no idea how exactly you get on, but I’ll definitely post about it when I’m done! I’m more scared of the bikes – they don’t have brakes, and they are like spin class bikes in that if the wheels are turning, so are the pedals.

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
