Questionably Texan

Home » bicycle commute » I Bailed On My Commute

I Bailed On My Commute

image

Very wet, and very cold. But at least my halo doesn't disappear when it rains.

Yesterday’s commute home was a little more treacherous than planned. I thought it was only misting outside. It wasn’t. There was a lot of rain coming down. I don’t mind riding in the rain, but evening rush hour makes things a little more crazy (the minimum speed limit for cars on the roads I ride is 40mph). And I was getting cold, real fast – not the best thing for a recovering hypothermic.

Five miles in (halfway), I stopped to call my wife to come pick me up. When I pulled my phone out of the ziploca bag, I saw that she had called me two minutes earlier to tell me that she was going to leave the house and try to find me on the commute. I told her to meet me at a gas station partway between where I was and home.

It’s still raining this morning, but I finished installing some fenders on my beater bike last night, and the commute in this morning was much more pleasant.

(there will be more to come on my decision to stop ultra running – still processing through it)

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
