Questionably Texan

Home » bicycle commute » Replacing Bottom Brackets Like They’re Going Out Of Style

Replacing Bottom Brackets Like They’re Going Out Of Style

It’s official.  Yesterday I broke my fourth bottom bracket in six months (the part that connects the two cranks together inside the frame).  Well, none of them broke as in snapped off, but I’ve had to replace all of them.

I had bought a new bike back in May, since my original commuting bike was stolen (the same day that the transmission on our vehicle went out too – it wasn’t the best timing!)  It was a cheap bike, and the bottom bracket gave up about three weeks into our new relationship.  I just shipped the entire bike back for a replacement, since I had some other issues with it as well and figured I must have gotten a lemon.  The replacement bike lasted another three weeks, before I realized that I had purchased an incredibly shitty bike, and it wasn’t in fact a lemon (the bottom bracket went out on that one as well, along with some other issues).  So I shipped that bike back, and upgraded to another model.  35 days on the new(est) bike, and the bottom bracket sounded like a dieing horse.    I replaced the bottom bracket, and it had been smooth sailing for a few months.

I know I ride my bike hard.  I treat every stop light like it’s the starting line of a race.  You’d think that by now, after averaging a bottom bracket every 1.5 months, that I would realize that I need to spend a little more money on that part, and not buy a cheap one.

Anyone else have a problem like this?

 

Have Something To Say?

wordpress stats plugin
